5 December 2022
5 December 2022, Comments Comments Off on Milestone Commemoration of 70th Anniversary for Caravan Industry Victoria
Milestone Commemoration of 70th Anniversary for Caravan Industry Victoria

On 1 December 2022, the Caravan Industry Victoria Trades Association (T/A Caravan Industry Victoria (CIV)) celebrated its 70th Anniversary. The historic milestone was celebrated at the Crown Aviary to honour Members of the Association for their years of service and contribution to the industry.

There were over 330 people in attendance for the Platinum Anniversary celebration including inductees into the Hall of Fame, Life Members, VIPs and guests; it was a very intimate evening that honoured the industry’s growth over the past 70 years and celebrated its members.

As part of the evening, Caravan Industry Victoria rolled through videos highlighting the industry’s achievements and history and acknowledged the pioneers who built its foundation. An array of commemorative industry treasures was on display, including the original show guide from the 1950s caravan show as well as other historic memorabilia from the past 70 years in their original form. This brought back nostalgic memories for many in the room.

Caravan Industry Victoria recognized its members who have been members for 10,15,20,25,30,35+ years throughout the evening and honoured the top ten longest-serving members and a huge reveal at the end of the night by welcoming them on stage to receive a commemorative certificate from CEO Rob Lucas and CIV President Nat Schiavello.

Caravan Industry Victoria’s top 10 Longest Serving Members are:

CIL Insurance – Joined the Association in 1968 – 54 years of Membership

Dometic (Electrolux) – Joined the Association in 1969 -53 years of Membership

Breha Industries – Joined the Association in 1970 -52 years of Membership

Hayman Reese – Joined the Association in 1972 -50 years of Membership

Thetford – Joined the Association in 1973 – 49 years of Membership

Camec – Joined the Association in 1976 – 46 years of Membership

Jayco – Joined the Association in 1976 – 46 years of Membership

Page Brothers – Joined the Association in 1976 – 46 years of Membership

Cobram Caravans – Joined the Association in 1977 – 45 years of Membership

Big 4 – Joined the Association in 1983 – 39 years of Membership.

“This Association has shaped the Caravan Industry for 70 years and this event showcased the enormous contribution the pioneers have created for today’s industry. The focus for the evening was our members with a celebration of the Top 10 longest serving. “Upon review, we identified that over 90 of our members have been members for over 10 years, a true reflection of what the Association means to the industry,” said Rob Lucas CEO of Caravan Industry Victoria.

In addition, this night was also the last CIV event for CEO Rob Lucas, as he hands over the reigns to current General Manager of Operations Daniel Sahlberg on 1 January 2022. A special acknowledgement was given to Mr Lucas, which was presented by AFL legend and 2 x Brownlow Medallist Robert Harvey who recognised Mr Lucas’s contribution to CIV its members and the industry as a whole.

Caravan Industry Victoria acknowledged and thanked their 70th Anniversary Sponsors for theirunwavering support and contribution.
• Jayco
• Caravan Industry Victoria
• Bank of Queensland
• Matthew Steer
• Masterpiece
• JB Caravans
• Supreme
• Retreat
• Thetford
• Pro RV
• Parable Productions
• Caravan Industry Association of Australia (CIAA)

“This event would not operate to the highest standard we have set without our amazing partners, we are very grateful for their support and thank each one of them” Rob Lucas, CEO, Caravan Industry Victoria.

Caravan Industry Victoria is the peak body for caravan and RV manufacturing, retailing and servicing in Victoria. Founded in 1952, it has 240-plus members and owns the Victorian Caravan, Camping & Touring Supershow, Melbourne Leisurefest, the Border Caravan & Camping Expo, and Bendigo Caravan & Camping Leisurefest.