23 November 2018
23 November 2018, Comments Comments Off on Caravan Industry Association of Australia announces new National Board Members
Caravan Industry Association of Australia announces new National Board Members

Four National Board Members, including two new members, have been elected to join the existing National Board of the Caravan Industry Association of Australia for a two-year term. This follows elections by the state caravanning associations last week.

The new National Board Members are Grant Wilckens, Gerry Ryan OAM, Nick Hunter and Donna Cocking.

Grant Wilckens and Gerry Ryan OAM were re-elected with two new members Nick Hunter and Donna Cocking joining them. The constitution requires approximately 50 percent of the board to be up for re-election annually. Current board members James Kelly, Matt Slee, Martin Cotterell, Dennis Austin and Chris Goddard were not subject to re-election and will continue to serve for another year ahead of a ballot in November 2019.

The board has overseen a period of significant growth in recent years while also strategically planning for the future proofing of the industry. Caravan Industry Association of Australia would like to thank vacating members Gabby Montagnese and Mark Lindsay who each have offered their considerable expertise, business acumen, hard work and support through this period.

Stuart Lamont CEO of Caravan Industry Association of Australia expressed his gratitude for all the work they contributed saying;

“Throughout her time on the Board, Gabby brought her experience and insights that have seen New Age Caravans rapidly become one of the leading manufacturers in the industry. These qualities have also seen Gabby being recognised as one of Australia’s 100 Women of Influence and a recipient of the Caravan Industry Association of Australia Future Leader award, and provided for much reason and debate around the board table in the interests of improving the industry, and this will be greatly missed.”

“Mark served as Chairman for over five years and more recently as a non-Executive Director. Throughout his period as Chairman he oversaw significant milestones in the development of the peak national body, none more so than the merger between RVMAA and CRVA to create Caravan Industry Association of Australia, and greater collaboration between the state associations and the national body. His commitment to the industry and the organisation was enormous, involving much personal and business sacrifice so the industry could advance, and he provided great mentorship and personal support to both myself and the staff during his time on the Board.”

The National Board for Caravan Industry Association of Australia is comprised of up to nine individuals from across the industry with no more than five board members involved in the same Caravan Industry Category (Parks or Trades) as identified at the time of their nomination. The term of office for each elected director is two years. There is also a mandated maximum three consecutive term limit meaning both Gerry Ryan OAM and Grant Wilckens will be ineligible to re-contest the ballot in November 2020 when their current term expires.

Donna Cocking has over 22 years owner / operator experience in the caravan holiday park industry and previously served as Vice Chair of the National Board 2015 – 2017. Donna has been a previous President of Caravan Industry Western Australia, and is the current President of the Peel Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the largest business representative group in the region, and one of the most progressive Chambers in the country. Donna operates Mandurah Caravan & Tourist Park, and is driving force behind Experience Holiday Parks which is currently involved in a $5 million re-development of a caravan park in Lancelin, Western Australia.

Nick Hunter is the Managing Director of Sunliner RV, a family owned manufacturer and distributor of RV product. Nick is a former Vice President of the RVMAA and Council member for CTIA Victoria with his career spanning over 25 years, starting in sales, and with experience and drive has worked his way up the ranks to his current position. Nick is a passionate individual interested in driving improved compliance and better manufacturing standards.